Everywhere A Sign

While visiting Kent Standing Rock Cemetery during a work trip to Cleveland, it became crystal clear to me that our parents are always with us. It had been 6 months since my last trip, so I knew spring cleaning was going to take some time.

After clearing the weeds, I discovered a small bouquet of purple mini violets growing wild at the base of the tree next to my parent’s resting place. My mom’s favorite color and one of her very favorite flowers. How so?

I also noticed two dandelion wish stems anchored in their gravestone. That was my parents reminding me to always pursue my dreams and wishes and not lose sight of my goals.

Not long after, as I was nearing the end of my mission, a lady walked up from across the lane. She too had been doing spring cleaning at the cemetery for her husband and son. Her name is Helen Marie Noble. My godmother’s first name was Helen, my mother’s middle name and grandmother’s first name was Marie. We had a soulful talk about life, death, health and passing time. I added her to my prayer list.

Then, as I went to say a prayer over her family at their resting place, I saw the markers for the TEXTOR family (high school friend) and the BLAIR family (neighbors I grew up with). This brought back a wealth of memories as I relived several conversations and experiences with these friends.

In the midst of this brief 2 hours, I was reminded there are signs everywhere that our loved ones who have gone before still care deeply and watch over us. You simply need to be receptive and stop to witness these messages and see these signs. Mark them on the tablet of your heart. Always.

Leave a comment